RSS Feed

Catching Up

Hey there!  I can’t believe it’s already Sunday!  I’m definitely still getting used to blogging, and since I don’t have a personal laptop, I wasn’t able to blog while away for work this week.

I must say, the Courtyard Marriott that I stayed at was one of the best hotel experiences in awhile!  If you’re not a rewards member yet, you’ve got to give it a try.  Unless it was coincidence, once I handed the front desk attendant my rewards card, I got a free upgrade!  The room had a balcony, more space than usual, and a glass shower. 

 

I also gave myself a “pat on the back” for using the fitness center both mornings at the wonderful time of 5:45am ;).   It makes me wish I had a gym in my basement, with how easy it was to get up and go.  The treadmills had built in tv’s and an actual view!  Most hotel fitness centers I’ve used are smelly, small, with old equipment.  A girl could get used to this lifestyle 😉 . 

While it’s usually very hard to stay on “healthy mode” while on a business trip, I really buckled down and made good choices.  Lunch was brought in everyday with a sandwich/wrap platter and salad.  For dinner each night, we went out as a group, and I ordered a salad with salmon, goat cheese, apples, and a vinaigrette.  For the first time in awhile, I came home feeling very good!

It has been so nice to enjoy a leisurely weekend at home!  Yesterday and today, I had oatmeal with flaxseed and almond milk.  Yesterday, we hit up the gym for a great running workout on the treadmill.  I’ve been following the Couch to 5k program to get ready for our 5k in August, and right now I’m on week 3.  I’m trying to slowly increase my speed and focus on endurance.  Eventually the speed will come, so I’m trying to do it the right way.

After four weeks of work trips and vacation, I finally have a full week at home…which means grocery shopping!  It’s such a great feeling to open your fridge and see it stocked with fruits, veggies, and “real food.”

Oh…and tonight’s dinner reminds me of why I love summer so much!  We grilled burgers on sandwich thins, and I had an ear of corn and some sweet potato fries.  I also made a simple romaine salad with tomatoes, walnuts, and a drizzle of olive oil/honey.

(don’t you love the pig corn holders…I can’t remember where I got them though!)

The rest of the evening, we’re going to try and take Kimber for a walk…that is if the thunderstorms pass, watch a movie, and prep for the week.

Have a great end to your weekend!

One response »

  1. You did GREAT while you were away!! Way to go on getting your workouts in, too. It’s so hard to keep the routine while traveling, but you DID IT!! YAY!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

