RSS Feed

New Shoes!

I’m still figuring out what my niche is with blogging.  I have quickly realized that blogging my meals will get very old very quickly.  While I figure out my flow…I leave you with a post about my new Brooks running shoes…which I adore 😉 .

So I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with running.  As a kid, I used to dread running “the mile” for fitness testing.  I would feel ill at the starting line, and I was usually one of the last to finish. 

During and after college, I gave it several “attempts”, usually on a treadmill.  I would get past the “I’m going to die from side stitches” phase, but then I’d get bored or wouldn’t continue training.

A couple months ago, my fiancee and I were talking about how awesome it would be to run a 5k together before we get married.  Reading so many blogs about running and the addicting capabilities, we decided to just go for it.  What do we have to lose?

I researched upcoming races in the PA area, and luckily there is a 5k in late August only a few miles away! 

So…anyway, we decided to use the Couch to 5k training plan, which I had started a couple years ago.  I’m on week 4 now, and it hit me that I should probably invest in some quality running shoes. 

Thankfully, a local shoe store (owned by an actual podiatrist) gave us some great advice, did a gait analysis, and studied for how we pronate.  I landed some awesome Brooks Ghost 4 running shoes!  I love the color too, almost like the Tiffany box 😉

I think I’m really liking this whole running business.  It’s a great way to spend time with your significant other, friend, family member…plus it’s an awesome stress reliever to boot.

With that, I’m off to grill some chicken and chill for the evening.  Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

